RSS

Getting selected for Outreach Program for Women (December2013- March2014)

22 Dec

I am bit late in posting this beautiful news :). As its said “better to be late than never” let me share one of the best experience of my life. I came to know about OPW when I was in second year of my B.Tech. I applied for it in the same year as well. I could not make it but definitely learnt a lot from the experience.

1) Searching about all the participating organizations, https://wiki.gnome.org/OutreachProgramForWomen

2) Going through projects on different platform. Selecting project.

https://wiki.gnome.org/OutreachProgramForWomen/2013/DecemberMarch#Participating_Organizations

3) Talking about project on their respective IRC(Internet Relay Chat).

4) Getting mentor , getting his/her guidance (actually most of the IRC folk help as much as they can, that was the most appealing thing which stuck me about IRC).

This year I applied again taking Fedora as my project organization. Name of my project is “unit test SSSD”, references to which are:

a) https://fedorahosted.org/sssd/

b) https://fedorahosted.org/sssd/wiki/DesignDocs/TestCoverage

I was really lucky to have Jakub Hrozek, https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/User:Jhrozek as my mentor. He is very good and approachable. I could do my initial contribution to the project very efficiently with his guidance. Marina Zhurakhinskaya , Lukas Slebodnik, Sumit Bose and whole team of Fedora as well as Gnome were really helpful. Getting into OPW means a lot to me. I am sure to learn a lot (which I am!!). At the same time I wish to be an asset to the organization. Right now I am working on my December task. Will share more about the project in the next blog…. 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 22, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Getting selected for Outreach Program for Women (December2013- March2014)

  1. Abhishek kumar singh

    December 25, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    Congrats Pallavi !! Well deserved.
    All your hard work and dedication made you the first girl from our college who got selected for Gnome OPW program
    Congrats once again and all the best! 🙂 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
